Blätter-Navigation

Offer 206 out of 286 from 05/07/24, 09:10

logo

Technische Universität Berlin - Faculty IV - The Berlin Institute for the Foundations of Learning and Data (BIFOLD) / Management of Data Science Processes

Technische Universität Berlin offers an open position:

Research Assistant - salary grade E13 TV-L Berliner Hochschulen - 1st qualification period (PhD candidate)

part-time employment may be possible

The campus of Technische Universität Berlin is located in the heart of the capital. We are one of the excellent universities in Germany and, with around 34,000 students, one of the largest technical universities. This includes numerous offers in the areas of family, sport and further education. Become part of TU Berlin: We have ideas for the future. For the benefit of society.

The DEEM Lab (https://deem.berlin) at the Berlin Institute for the Foundations of Learning and Data (BIFOLD) at TU Berlin is looking for a research assistant to work on research at the intersection of Responsible Data Engineering and Machine Learning (ML) under the direction of Prof Dr Sebastian Schelter.

Working field:

The research will focus on complex ML applications, which include data integration and data pre-processing pipelines. Such applications are difficult to build as they utilise data from heterogeneous sources that needs to be integrated and transformed into features before the data can be consumed by ML models. This requires combining different relational and linear algebra operations, which often leads to performance problems and the loss of important information about the origin of the processed data.

The goal of the research will be twofold: First, we want to make the creation of complex ML applications easier for non-expert users, for example when they want to integrate domain-specific knowledge into their applications or when they evaluate the robustness of their ML applications. Secondly, we are developing the foundations for ML applications that guarantee their users’ control over their personal data (e.g. with regard to the "right to be forgotten" from the GDPR) and comply with legal regulations such as the upcoming European AI Act. This will be achieved through novel declarative methods for the automatic design, testing and debugging of ML applications that potentially utilise the code generation capabilities of Large Language Models. The research will lead to efficient and scalable implementations that will be made publicly available as open source libraries.

The position serves the student's own academic qualification (doctorate) and includes collaboration in teaching. This includes the organization of tutorials and internships as well as the supervision of student work.

Requirements:

  • Successfully completed university degree (Master, Diplom or equivalent) in Computer Science or Artificial Intelligence
  • Strong programming skills in Python and at least one other language (Java/Scala/Rust/C++)
  • Knowledge of data processing with dataflow systems, relational databases and/or dataframe libraries (e.g. Apache Spark, DuckDB, Pandas, etc.)
  • Experience with increasing the efficiency, scalability and correctness of data-centric programmes
  • Basic knowledge of machine learning and knowledge of common libraries (e.g. Pandas, Sklearn, Pytorch, SparkML, etc.)
  • Ability to teach in English and/or German is required, willingness to acquire the missing language skills in each case

Desirable:

  • Creativity and independent thinking, self-motivated working style

In addition, applications with proof of the following knowledge are preferred:

  • Experience with real-world data processing systems and/or ML deployments (e.g. from internships, jobs or entrepreneurial experience)
  • Experience with regulations such as the GDPR and the EU AI Act
  • Contributions to open source projects

How to apply:

Please send your written application, quoting the reference number, together with the usual application documents (i.e. at least a cover letter, CV, degree certificates, transcripts of records, etc.) to Technische Universität Berlin - Die Präsidentin - Fakultät IV, Institut für Softwaretechnik und Theoretische Informatik, FG Management von Data Science Prozessen, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Schelter, TEL 9-2, Ernst-Reuter-Platz 7, 10587 Berlin or by e-mail (one PDF file, max. 5 MB) to: schelter@tu-berlin.de.

For reasons of cost, application documents sent by post will not be returned. Please submit copies only.

By submitting your application via email you consent to having your data electronically processed and saved. Please note that we do not provide a guaranty for the protection of your personal data when submitted as unprotected file. Please find our data protection notice acc. DSGVO (General Data Protection Regulation) at the TU staff department homepage: https://www.abt2-t.tu-berlin.de/menue/themen_a_z/datenschutzerklaerung.

To ensure equal opportunities between women and men, applications by women with the required qualifications are explicitly desired. Qualified individuals with disabilities will be favored. The TU Berlin values the diversity of its members and is committed to the goals of equal opportunities.

Technische Universität Berlin - Die Präsidentin - Fakultät IV, FG Management von Data Science Prozessen, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Sebastian Schelter, Sekr. TEL 11-2, Ernst-Reuter -Platz 7, 10587 Berlin

Blätter-Navigation

Angebot 186 von 281 vom 05.07.2024, 09:10

logo

Technische Universität Berlin - Fakultät IV - The Berlin Institute for the Foundations of Learning and Data (BIFOLD) / FG Management von Data Science Prozessen

Bei der Technischen Universität Berlin ist/sind folgende Stelle/n zu besetzen:

Wiss. Mit­ar­bei­ter*in (d/m/w) - Ent­gelt­gruppe 13 TV-L Ber­li­ner Hoch­schu­len - 1. Qua­li­fi­zie­rungs­phase (zur Pro­mo­tion)

Teilzeitbeschäftigung ist ggf. möglich

Im Herzen der Hauptstadt liegt der Campus der Technischen Universität Berlin. Wir gehören zu den exzellenten Universitäten in Deutschland und mit rund 34.000 Studierenden zu den größten technischen Hochschulen. Die TU Berlin ist ein lebendiger Ort, an dem gearbeitet, gelernt und gelebt wird. Werden Sie Teil der TU Berlin: Wir haben die Ideen für die Zukunft. Zum Nutzen der Gesellschaft.

Das DEEM Lab (https://deem.berlin) im Berlin Institute for the Foundations of Learning and Data (BIFOLD) der TU Berlin sucht eine*n wissenschaftliche*n Mitarbeiter*in zur Forschung an der Schnittstelle von Responsible Data Engineering und maschinellem Lernen (ML) unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr.-Ing. Sebastian Schelter.

Aufgabenbeschreibung:

Die Forschung wird sich auf komplexe ML-Anwendungen konzentrieren, zu denen Datenintegrations- und Datenvorverarbeitungspipelines gehören. Solche Anwendungen sind schwierig zu erstellen, da sie Daten aus heterogenen Quellen nutzen, die integriert und in Features umgewandelt werden müssen, bevor sie von ML-Modellen konsumiert werden können. Dabei müssen verschiedene relationale und lineare Algebra-Operationen kombiniert werden, was häufig zu Performanceproblemen und dem Verlust wichtiger Informationen über die Herkunft der verarbeiteten Daten führt.

Das Ziel der Forschung wird zweierlei sein: Erstens wollen wir die Erstellung komplexer ML Anwendungen für nicht-fachkundige Benutzer*innen einfacher machen, beispielsweise wenn sie domänenspezifisches Wissen in ihre Anwendungen integrieren wollen oder wenn sie die Robustheit ihrer ML-Anwendungen evaluieren. Zweitens entwickeln wir die Grundlagen für ML Anwendungen, die ihren Nutzer*innen die Kontrolle über ihre persönlichen Daten garantieren (z. B. im Hinblick auf das „Recht auf Vergessen-werden“ aus der DSGVO) und gesetzliche Regelungen wie das kommende europäische KI-Gesetz einhalten. Dies wird durch neuartige deklarative Methoden zum automatischen Design, Testen und Debuggen von ML Anwendungen erreicht, die potenziell die Codegenerierungsfähigkeiten von Large Language Models nutzen. Die Forschung soll zu effizienten und skalierbaren Implementierungen führen, die als Open-Source-Bibliotheken öffentlich verfügbar gemacht werden.

Die Tätigkeit dient der eigenen wissenschaftlichen Qualifizierung (Promotion) und beinhaltet die Mitarbeit in der Lehre. Dazu gehören die Organisation von Tutorien und Praktika sowie die fachliche Betreuung studentischer Arbeiten.

Erwartete Qualifikationen:

  • Erfolgreich abgeschlossenes wissenschaftliches Hochschulstudium (Master, Diplom oder Äquivalent) in Informatik oder Artificial Intelligence
  • Fortgeschrittene Programmierkenntnisse in Python und mindestens einer weiteren Sprache (Java/Scala/Rust/C++)
  • Kenntnisse in der Datenverarbeitung mit Datenflusssystemen, relationalen Datenbanken und/oder Dataframebibliotheken (z. B. Apache Spark, DuckDB, Pandas usw.)
  • Erfahrung mit der Steigerung der Effizienz, Skalierbarkeit und Korrektheit datenzentrierter Programme
  • Grundkenntnisse in maschinellem Lernen und Kenntnisse gängiger Bibliotheken (z. B. Pandas, Sklearn, Pytorch, SparkML usw.)
  • Fähigkeiten zum Unterrichten in deutscher und/oder in englischer Sprache wird vorausgesetzt, Bereitschaft, die jeweils fehlenden Sprachkenntnisse zu erwerben

Wünschenswert:

  • Kreativität und unabhängige Denkweise, selbstmotivierter Arbeitsstil

Darüber hinaus werden Bewerbungen mit Nachweis folgender Kenntnisse bevorzugt:

  • Erfahrungen mit realen Datenverarbeitungssystemen und/oder ML-Deployments (z. B. aus Praktika, Jobs oder unternehmerischer Erfahrung)
  • Erfahrung mit Vorschriften wie der DSGVO und dem EU-KI-Gesetz
  • Beiträge zu Open-Source-Projekten

Hinweise zur Bewerbung:

Ihre schriftliche Bewerbung richten Sie bitte unter Angabe der Kennziffer mit den üblichen Bewerbungsunterlagen (d.h. mindestens Anschreiben, CV, Abschlusszeugnisse, Notenübersichten etc.) an die Technische Universität Berlin - Die Präsidentin - Fakultät IV, Institut für Softwaretechnik und Theoretische Informatik, FG Management von Data Science Prozessen, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Schelter, TEL 9-2, Ernst-Reuter -Platz 7, 10587 Berlin oder per E-Mail (eine PDF-Datei, max. 5 MB) an: schelter@tu-berlin.de.

Aus Kostengründen werden postalisch zugesandte Bewerbungsunterlagen nicht zurückgesandt. Bitte reichen Sie nur Kopien ein.

Mit der Abgabe einer Onlinebewerbung geben Sie als Bewerber*in Ihr Einverständnis, dass Ihre Daten elektronisch verarbeitet und gespeichert werden. Wir weisen darauf hin, dass bei ungeschützter Übersendung Ihrer Bewerbung auf elektronischem Wege keine Gewähr für die Sicherheit übermittelter persönlicher Daten übernommen werden kann. Datenschutzrechtliche Hinweise zur Verarbeitung Ihrer Daten gem. DSGVO finden Sie auf der Webseite der Personalabteilung: https://www.abt2-t.tu-berlin.de/menue/themen_a_z/datenschutzerklaerung.

Zur Wahrung der Chancengleichheit zwischen Frauen und Männern sind Bewerbungen von Frauen mit der jeweiligen Qualifikation ausdrücklich erwünscht. Schwerbehinderte werden bei gleicher Eignung bevorzugt berücksichtigt. Die TU Berlin schätzt die Vielfalt ihrer Mitglieder und verfolgt die Ziele der Chancengleichheit.

Technische Universität Berlin - Die Präsidentin - Fakultät IV, FG Management von Data Science Prozessen, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Sebastian Schelter, Sekr. TEL 11-2, Ernst-Reuter -Platz 7, 10587 Berlin